Hunting mobs - and it's roleplay implications

Anything to say about roleplay? Want to share a story? This is the right place.

Moderator: Wizards

glorfindel
Hero

Hunting mobs - and it's roleplay implications

#1 Post by glorfindel » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:17 am

Hey,

I think I'm holding the can of worms here, esp. as there are many different opinions floating around this mud, so please, if you comment on this thread, keep the flaming away. Thanks

My gripe, ever since I started playing this mud, is the issue with 'hunting' mobs. I do not think any person living in the mud would be voluntarily hunting things for their training. Personally, I'll not tell anybody what to do, I accept how they treat this, but for me personally, I'd like my character to have a solid explanation when he goes to slaughter a group of mobs, though I fail short on that sometimes.

So, I've been wondering, how one does go about it. I think Sathonites/Crusaders/Taniels/Asrals have it easiest on there, as they are practically made to hunt things down. (Sathos: rule the world, Taniels: destroy evil, Crussies: destroy evil, asrals: fight challengin battles).

But what about the rest of us ? Why does your character seek to destroy a certain group of mobs ?

For example, it's rather easy for me to explain why Glorfindel would be fighting undeads or tcharks, or even the orcs in the tower or the cyclops... but I can see little reason why he would go to find some halforcs. Keeping things vague, to not spoil IC reasoning.

For those who believe that this is the wrong way to go about it, that you should think about what your character would do instead of what you want to do, I agree, partially. Still, in the end it is you defining how your character functions and this specific thing is something that bites me often.

Zehren
Overlord

Re: Hunting mobs - and it's roleplay implications

#2 Post by Zehren » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:50 am