Brand new here

Are you a Newbie and need some help? Or are you a seasoned player and have tips for newbies? Post here!

Moderator: Wizards

Ertai

Brand new here

#1 Post by Ertai » Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:25 am

Hi,
I am pretty new to MUDs and have only had exposure to Aetolia, which I played with a good friend of mine for a couple months. From what I have seen so far, Geas is amazing! It's incredible how deep and thought out everything is. As someone who has not been playing MUDs for very long I have some questions. Is any one race easier to play as a beginner than others? Is any guild easier for a beginner than others? For instance, I have been reading this forum and stumbled on a thread where people didn't think thieves would be a good guild for a beginner. From what I have read on the website it seems all the cities are pretty neutral. I started out in Arborea as a human, is there any place I should stay away from? Is there any political tension between Arborea and another place? Aetolia was a world full of vampires and werewolves. Are those present here? People have been very helpful on the Newbie-line, but I always feel like I'm bugging people with the loads of questions I have. Is there any other place I can find help on? Should I, for example, find a library and read books on subjects I am wondering about?

Thank you in advance for any help and I look forward to meeting all of you in the game!

Delia
Overlord

Re: Brand new here

#2 Post by Delia » Tue Nov 18, 2014 2:25 pm

You guilds you can easily(a relative term)join are the Shao-Lin, Crusaders, Taniel clerics, Asral clerics and the Rangers.

Thieves are bit secretive and yes, hard to play so they can prove to be very hard to join.

There are druids but I think there are not many druid players active currently. I am not sure. These guys are mostly pacifists so if you like to beat stuff up, this is not your place.